issue-#4 applogo

Merged to the master branch

issue-#4 applogo

Postby Ivan Denisov » Sat Apr 09, 2016 6:37 am

The new logo was made.
http://redmine.blackboxframework.org/issues/4

Two years ago I was using Blender to make 3d prototype. Then Gimp was used to make the temporary version.
Several weeks ago I redrew the logo with Inkscape and put new logo to all web-sites.
I saw that nobody was saying bad things about the quality and design, so today I prepared the Applogo file.
I tested it in Win7 and WinXP.

The version for try:
http://blackboxframework.org/unstable/i ... a1.503.zip
Attachments
icodemo.png
Ivan Denisov
 
Posts: 1698
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:21 am
Location: Russia

Re: issue-#4 applogo

Postby Josef Templ » Mon Apr 11, 2016 9:21 am

I like the design.
The desktop icon (big version) is displayed well.

However, the app icon in the title bar is not sharp, not even on a high resolution monitor.
This needs some manual tuning, I guess.
User avatar
Josef Templ
 
Posts: 2036
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 6:50 am

Re: issue-#4 applogo

Postby Ivan Denisov » Tue Apr 12, 2016 7:46 pm

I will work on small icons to increase sharpness.
Ivan Denisov
 
Posts: 1698
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:21 am
Location: Russia

Re: issue-#4 applogo

Postby Ivan Denisov » Tue Apr 12, 2016 7:46 pm

Useful command for reset icons cache.
Code: Select all
ie4uinit.exe -ClearIconCache
Ivan Denisov
 
Posts: 1698
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:21 am
Location: Russia

Re: issue-#4 applogo

Postby Ivan Denisov » Sat Apr 16, 2016 4:38 am

I worked on the icons more. The sharpness was increased. I made shodows more dark also for 32px and 48px icons.
http://blackboxframework.org/unstable/i ... a1.507.zip
Attachments
moreContrast.png
moreContrast.png (39.32 KiB) Viewed 11127 times
Ivan Denisov
 
Posts: 1698
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:21 am
Location: Russia

Re: issue-#4 applogo

Postby Josef Templ » Sun Apr 17, 2016 8:32 am

Definitely better now.

The size is much bigger (58KB) than the BB 1.6 version (2KB).
So we have a factor of 29.

What sizes are in the .ico file?
Are all of them required?

- Josef
User avatar
Josef Templ
 
Posts: 2036
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 6:50 am

Re: issue-#4 applogo

Postby Ivan Denisov » Sun Apr 17, 2016 9:29 am

Today the standard set is 16x16, 32x32, 48x48, and 256x256.
16x16, 32x32, 48x48 set used with 32-bit and 8-bit palettes.
So there are 7 icons in total. The 256x256 icon compressed to PNG, however it gives main size (36k).

Previous icon had only 16x16 and 32x32 sizes. That is why it was so small.
Ivan Denisov
 
Posts: 1698
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:21 am
Location: Russia

Re: issue-#4 applogo

Postby Zinn » Mon Apr 18, 2016 5:41 am

Currently we ara speaking about one icon. Original it was available in 2 sizes. Now there are 7 sizes. Need we all those sizes?
What about the other 15 icons. Do we have to do the same work about them? Or can we copy them from somewhere else?
- Helmut
Zinn
 
Posts: 472
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 5:56 pm
Location: Frankfurt am Main

Re: issue-#4 applogo

Postby Ivan Denisov » Mon Apr 18, 2016 8:10 am

There are four sizes of this one icon with two pallets. I am not sure do we need 8bit pallet or not. However it is recommended and this three icons with 8bit pallet have very small size comparing to 256px version. 16px, 32px, 48px and 256px sizes are recommended by Microsoft as the minimal set.
Ivan Denisov
 
Posts: 1698
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:21 am
Location: Russia

Re: issue-#4 applogo

Postby Ivan Denisov » Mon Apr 18, 2016 8:11 am

Zinn wrote:What about the other 15 icons. Do we have to do the same work about them? Or can we copy them from somewhere else?

I am suggesting to leave them as is now.
Ivan Denisov
 
Posts: 1698
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:21 am
Location: Russia

Next

Return to Resolved (Features)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron