issue-#14: Blackbox building pipeline

Ivan Denisov
Posts: 1700
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:21 am
Location: Russia

Re: blackbox-1.7-a1-setup

Post by Ivan Denisov »

I have found the bug in console compiler, so now I am ready to make some test pipeline for building BlackBox from the sources in GitHub.

I tried Jenkins Continuous Integration server, however it takes to much RAM from the server and do very simple job, that can be done with some simple python script running by Cron each 5 or less minutes. I think, that we do not need Jenkins for Continuous Integration process.

The version of the build can be taken from the file BlackBox.iss file or BlackBox.iss can be built automatically with some BlackBox Script. I do not know, which variant is better.

Also, there is a question about some version fields:

Code: Select all

AppVersion=1.7.0.1.002
VersionInfoVersion=1.7.0.1
I made like this, however do not sure is this ok?

The same is about FileVersion in resources file:

Code: Select all

FILEVERSION 1,7,0,1
PRODUCTVERSION 1,7,0,1
or it can be

Code: Select all

FILEVERSION 002
PRODUCTVERSION 1,7
User avatar
DGDanforth
Posts: 1061
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:16 am
Location: Palo Alto, California, USA
Contact:

Re: blackbox-1.7-a1-setup

Post by DGDanforth »

Ivan Denisov wrote: Also, there is a question about some version fields:

Code: Select all

AppVersion=1.7.0.1.002
VersionInfoVersion=1.7.0.1
Why isn't that simply called InfoVersion?
cfbsoftware
Posts: 204
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 10:06 pm
Contact:

Re: blackbox-1.7-a1-setup

Post by cfbsoftware »

DGDanforth wrote:Why isn't that simply called InfoVersion?
To be consistent with the other settings in the VersionInfo group I guess. e.g. VersionInfoCompany, VersionInfoCopyright etc. etc. For the complete list see:

http://www.jrsoftware.org/ishelp/index. ... nfoversion
Ivan Denisov
Posts: 1700
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:21 am
Location: Russia

Re: blackbox-1.7-a1-setup

Post by Ivan Denisov »

The result of pipeline is here:
http://blackboxframework.org/dev

The technical details are here:
http://redmine.blackboxframework.org/issues/3#note-6

There is buildlog
http://blackboxframework.org/dev/buildlog.html
for last two files:
http://blackboxframework.org/dev/blackb ... -setup.exe
http://blackboxframework.org/dev/blackb ... -setup.exe

I made no changes or bug-fixes except file versions.


Now we are ready for continues development-testing process.

1. The bugs and features are describing in issues tracker
2. Somebody is offering clear solution and is creating pull-request
3. Members are voting at the Center forum about this solution
4. After updating of 'development' branch the new build is automatically making
5. Members are downloading new development version Setup file and are testing new BlackBox
6. Testers are giving feedback if something wrong
Ivan Denisov
Posts: 1700
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:21 am
Location: Russia

Re: blackbox-1.7-a1-setup

Post by Ivan Denisov »

I have made linux user for Josef (he claimed for this) and setup proper permissions in the server side for him can act in building build pipeline.
Toogether we will win it :-) in details.

What is the others members desires about building process?

Do the .zip archive and .exe is enouth?

Do we need to destribute BlackBox.res and BlackBox.rc files with BlackBox for users have the ability to build proper versioned BlackBox executable?

Do we need to build from 'development' or only from 'master'?
From my point of view, the building from 'master' should include a lot of tests. For garanty stability. The build results from the 'development' do not give any garantyies. This builds are for performing the development process and collect feedback from active core of BlackBox community.
User avatar
DGDanforth
Posts: 1061
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:16 am
Location: Palo Alto, California, USA
Contact:

Re: blackbox-1.7-a1-setup

Post by DGDanforth »

Language corrected
Ivan Denisov wrote:I have given Josef access to Linux (he requested this) with proper permissions on the server side for him to create build pipelines.
Together we will win it :-) in details.

What are the others members' desire about the building process?

Are the .zip archive and .exe enough?

Do we need to distribute BlackBox.res and BlackBox.rc files with BlackBox for users to be able to build proper versioned BlackBox executables?

Should we build from 'development' or only from 'master'?
From my point of view, building from 'master' should include a lot of tests, for guaranteed stability. A build from 'development' does not provide any guarantees. These builds are for doing the development process and to collect feedback from the active core of the BlackBox community.
Ivan,
For the record, I am way behind in my use of the git and redmine tools and still can not comment about any of the questions you ask (but I do agree that official releases should be done from the master).
-Doug
Ivan Denisov
Posts: 1700
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:21 am
Location: Russia

Re: blackbox-1.7-a1-setup

Post by Ivan Denisov »

DGDanforth wrote:Ivan,
For the record, I am way behind in my use of the git and redmine tools and still can not comment about any of the questions you ask (but I do agree that official releases should be done from the master).
Doug, but are the results of build seems good?
Today Josef updated the pipeline script. The version 007 was made by his script:
http://blackboxframework.org/dev/
Can you download, please, and give feedback? Are this files well prepared? They were compiled from sources by the Center server today.
User avatar
DGDanforth
Posts: 1061
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:16 am
Location: Palo Alto, California, USA
Contact:

Re: blackbox-1.7-a1-setup (building pipeline)

Post by DGDanforth »

Ivan,
Before attempt to do that I need to know how to do that so that I do not corrupt the BB1.6 system on my machine. I assume (but do not know) that when I run the executable after down loading that I will be asked where to install the software, right? But what about the Windows registry? Is that overwritten or does each version have its own registry entry. I am deathly afraid of hurting my machine.
-Doug
Ivan Denisov
Posts: 1700
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:21 am
Location: Russia

Re: blackbox-1.7-a1-setup (building pipeline)

Post by Ivan Denisov »

DGDanforth wrote:Ivan,
Before attempt to do that I need to know how to do that so that I do not corrupt the BB1.6 system on my machine. I assume (but do not know) that when I run the executable after down loading that I will be asked where to install the software, right? But what about the Windows registry? Is that overwritten or does each version have its own registry entry. I am deathly afraid of hurting my machine.
-Doug
You are right. The new version will edit the Registry. So you will need to re-install old one or re-initiate it with special script. Anyway you can see zip archive, that is now generating. It will not touch Registry.
http://blackboxframework.org/dev/blackb ... a1.007.zip
cfbsoftware
Posts: 204
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 10:06 pm
Contact:

Re: blackbox-1.7-a1-setup (building pipeline)

Post by cfbsoftware »

Have there been changes to the registry in 1.7-a1? If any new / modified registry settings are not backwards-compatible they should be isolated from earlier versions.

I have three stable versions (1.5, 1.6rc5 and 1.6 Final) installed on my machine and I haven't noticed any registry-related problems switching from one to the other. As far as I can see they are shared settings so if you change e.g. the default font, then it will affect another but I would want that anyway.
Post Reply