Page 1 of 2

issue-#177 adding system property 'buildBranch'

Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 2:17 pm
by Josef Templ
I have created an infrastructure issue for this IMHO very reasonable proposal.
It completes the info that we already have for a distribution built by the automated build engine
and it was easy to add to the build script.

The changes are not yet committed to master but only to branch issue-#177.

The effect of the change is that a new property is added to System/Rsrc/Strings.
The property is named 'buildBranch' and has the value 'issue-#177' in this case.
If the build is for the master branch, then it would be 'master'.

If you are interested in the technical details see the diffs at https://redmine.blackboxframework.org/p ... 6a7fc21061.

- Josef

Re: issue-#177 adding system property 'buildBranch'

Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2017 5:04 am
by Zinn
We have two places where the version numbers are stored.
1. System/Rsrc/Strings.odc
2. Win/Rsrc/BlackBox.rc
Which one edited first?
How the other one is updated?
Which resource compiler do we use to create BlackBox.res?
- Helmut

Re: issue-#177 adding system property 'buildBranch'

Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2017 8:48 am
by Robert
Do we want to add the Branch information to the BlackBox About dialog?

(I don't personally mind as I have an additional "Chill 12" About dialog to which I have already added it! I have also added the Hash code.)

Re: issue-#177 adding system property 'buildBranch'

Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2017 8:50 am
by Josef Templ
Zinn wrote:We have two places where the version numbers are stored.
1. System/Rsrc/Strings.odc
2. Win/Rsrc/BlackBox.rc
Which one edited first?
How the other one is updated?
Which resource compiler do we use to create BlackBox.res?
- Helmut
Helmut, you can find the answers by looking into the appbuild/build.py script, which constitutes the automated build process.

The answer to the ordering question is that BlackBox.rc is created first.

The answer to the resource compiler question is that we are using the mingw resource compiler.
It follows from the definition:
windres="/usr/bin/i586-mingw32msvc-windres"

- Josef

Re: issue-#177 adding system property 'buildBranch'

Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2017 9:10 am
by Josef Templ
Robert wrote:Do we want to add the Branch information to the BlackBox About dialog?

(I don't personally mind as I have an additional "Chill 12" About dialog to which I have already added it! I have also added the Hash code.)
This would also be simple to do.
It could look like the picture below.
I also shifted the OK button to the right where it follows the Windows user interface guidelines.

Robert: how does it look like in your dialog?

- Josef

Re: issue-#177 adding system property 'buildBranch'

Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2017 10:57 am
by Robert
The additional About dialog I use personally - it is available on CPC as part of the "ChillDocu" pack.

Re: issue-#177 adding system property 'buildBranch'

Posted: Mon Oct 09, 2017 8:55 am
by Robert
Shall I call a vote with the current diff - ie no update to the About box?.

Re: issue-#177 adding system property 'buildBranch'

Posted: Mon Oct 09, 2017 5:10 pm
by Josef Templ
Robert wrote:Shall I call a vote with the current diff - ie no update to the About box?.
I just noticed that the currently used BlackBox version is also displayed in the status bar upon program startup.
In case of a development version it would be easy, and IMHO meaningful, to add the buildBranch property showing for example:
"BlackBox 1.7.1-rc1 / issue-#177"

For a stable release it would be disturbing to display "master", I think.

Regarding the About dialog it is OK for me to leave it as it is.
The problem here is that it is not eays to display a conditional part, i.e. to show
the buildBranch only for a development version.

- Josef

Re: issue-#177 adding system property 'buildBranch'

Posted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 7:48 am
by Robert
Josef Templ wrote:I just noticed that the currently used BlackBox version is also displayed in the status bar upon program startup.
I don't see this. Is it something that needs to be fixed?

Re: issue-#177 adding system property 'buildBranch'

Posted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 12:39 pm
by Josef Templ
Robert wrote:
Josef Templ wrote:I just noticed that the currently used BlackBox version is also displayed in the status bar upon program startup.
I don't see this. Is it something that needs to be fixed?
It is possible that in your installation some other module overwrites the status bar message or clears it.
Note that it is only displayed if the application name is 'BlackBox'. So if you have configured your system to use a different name it is also
not displayed.

When you start a plain, unchanged BlackBox installation, you should see it.
The relevant code is on HostWindows.CreateMainWindowss:

Code: Select all

		IF Dialog.appName = "BlackBox" THEN
			Dialog.ShowStatus(Dialog.appName + " " + Dialog.appVersion)
		END;

- Josef