issue-#177 adding system property 'buildBranch'

User avatar
Josef Templ
Posts: 2047
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 6:50 am

issue-#177 adding system property 'buildBranch'

Post by Josef Templ »

I have created an infrastructure issue for this IMHO very reasonable proposal.
It completes the info that we already have for a distribution built by the automated build engine
and it was easy to add to the build script.

The changes are not yet committed to master but only to branch issue-#177.

The effect of the change is that a new property is added to System/Rsrc/Strings.
The property is named 'buildBranch' and has the value 'issue-#177' in this case.
If the build is for the master branch, then it would be 'master'.

If you are interested in the technical details see the diffs at https://redmine.blackboxframework.org/p ... 6a7fc21061.

- Josef
Zinn
Posts: 476
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 5:56 pm
Location: Frankfurt am Main
Contact:

Re: issue-#177 adding system property 'buildBranch'

Post by Zinn »

We have two places where the version numbers are stored.
1. System/Rsrc/Strings.odc
2. Win/Rsrc/BlackBox.rc
Which one edited first?
How the other one is updated?
Which resource compiler do we use to create BlackBox.res?
- Helmut
User avatar
Robert
Posts: 1024
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 11:04 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: issue-#177 adding system property 'buildBranch'

Post by Robert »

Do we want to add the Branch information to the BlackBox About dialog?

(I don't personally mind as I have an additional "Chill 12" About dialog to which I have already added it! I have also added the Hash code.)
User avatar
Josef Templ
Posts: 2047
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 6:50 am

Re: issue-#177 adding system property 'buildBranch'

Post by Josef Templ »

Zinn wrote:We have two places where the version numbers are stored.
1. System/Rsrc/Strings.odc
2. Win/Rsrc/BlackBox.rc
Which one edited first?
How the other one is updated?
Which resource compiler do we use to create BlackBox.res?
- Helmut
Helmut, you can find the answers by looking into the appbuild/build.py script, which constitutes the automated build process.

The answer to the ordering question is that BlackBox.rc is created first.

The answer to the resource compiler question is that we are using the mingw resource compiler.
It follows from the definition:
windres="/usr/bin/i586-mingw32msvc-windres"

- Josef
User avatar
Josef Templ
Posts: 2047
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 6:50 am

Re: issue-#177 adding system property 'buildBranch'

Post by Josef Templ »

Robert wrote:Do we want to add the Branch information to the BlackBox About dialog?

(I don't personally mind as I have an additional "Chill 12" About dialog to which I have already added it! I have also added the Hash code.)
This would also be simple to do.
It could look like the picture below.
I also shifted the OK button to the right where it follows the Windows user interface guidelines.

Robert: how does it look like in your dialog?

- Josef
Attachments
about.jpg
User avatar
Robert
Posts: 1024
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 11:04 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: issue-#177 adding system property 'buildBranch'

Post by Robert »

The additional About dialog I use personally - it is available on CPC as part of the "ChillDocu" pack.
Attachments
ChillAbout.png
User avatar
Robert
Posts: 1024
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 11:04 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: issue-#177 adding system property 'buildBranch'

Post by Robert »

Shall I call a vote with the current diff - ie no update to the About box?.
User avatar
Josef Templ
Posts: 2047
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 6:50 am

Re: issue-#177 adding system property 'buildBranch'

Post by Josef Templ »

Robert wrote:Shall I call a vote with the current diff - ie no update to the About box?.
I just noticed that the currently used BlackBox version is also displayed in the status bar upon program startup.
In case of a development version it would be easy, and IMHO meaningful, to add the buildBranch property showing for example:
"BlackBox 1.7.1-rc1 / issue-#177"

For a stable release it would be disturbing to display "master", I think.

Regarding the About dialog it is OK for me to leave it as it is.
The problem here is that it is not eays to display a conditional part, i.e. to show
the buildBranch only for a development version.

- Josef
User avatar
Robert
Posts: 1024
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 11:04 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: issue-#177 adding system property 'buildBranch'

Post by Robert »

Josef Templ wrote:I just noticed that the currently used BlackBox version is also displayed in the status bar upon program startup.
I don't see this. Is it something that needs to be fixed?
User avatar
Josef Templ
Posts: 2047
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 6:50 am

Re: issue-#177 adding system property 'buildBranch'

Post by Josef Templ »

Robert wrote:
Josef Templ wrote:I just noticed that the currently used BlackBox version is also displayed in the status bar upon program startup.
I don't see this. Is it something that needs to be fixed?
It is possible that in your installation some other module overwrites the status bar message or clears it.
Note that it is only displayed if the application name is 'BlackBox'. So if you have configured your system to use a different name it is also
not displayed.

When you start a plain, unchanged BlackBox installation, you should see it.
The relevant code is on HostWindows.CreateMainWindowss:

Code: Select all

		IF Dialog.appName = "BlackBox" THEN
			Dialog.ShowStatus(Dialog.appName + " " + Dialog.appVersion)
		END;

- Josef
Post Reply