Development Builds
Development Builds
One thing I don't like about our development builds is the file dates. (Are they the date the build was first made?)
I would much prefer it if the file dates reflected the last time the file actually changed. Is that possible?
I would much prefer it if the file dates reflected the last time the file actually changed. Is that possible?
- Josef Templ
- Posts: 2047
- Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 6:50 am
Re: Development Builds
As far as I know this is not possible but I am not expert enough
to be sure. I haven't seen any file dates stored anywhere in git.
I have given up looking at file dates but only look into the change log.
- Josef
to be sure. I haven't seen any file dates stored anywhere in git.
I have given up looking at file dates but only look into the change log.
- Josef
-
- Posts: 1700
- Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:21 am
- Location: Russia
Re: Development Builds
There is commit hash in System/Rsrc/Strings.
You can see the history of any file in repository.And match the dates it has been changed.
With that hash also you can easily reset repository to the state of this build.
You can see the history of any file in repository.
Code: Select all
git log -p Host/Mod/Menus.odc
With that hash also you can easily reset repository to the state of this build.
Code: Select all
git reset <commithash>
Re: Development Builds
I didn't really understand any of this, but that probably doesn't matter as it didn't seem to answer my question.Ivan Denisov wrote:...
1 - What am I looking for in the Strings file?
2 - Where do I type those git strings?
I used to know how to find the "DOS box" in Windows XP, but now I have switched to Windows 7 I can't even find that.
- DGDanforth
- Posts: 1061
- Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:16 am
- Location: Palo Alto, California, USA
- Contact:
Re: Development Builds
If 7 is like 10 then you "run cmd"Robert wrote: I used to know how to find the "DOS box" in Windows XP, but now I have switched to Windows 7 I can't even find that.
-Doug
Re: Development Builds
Didn't help!DGDanforth wrote:If 7 is like 10 then you "run cmd"
But I have now been shown two ways:
1 - Click the tool bar start button, then type "cmd" into the "Search" box
2 - Hold the <Windows> & <R> keys simultaneously, the type "cmd" into the "Open" box.
I just find this stuff hard!
Re: Development Builds
Yes, it is hard to start with a new system. It is out of date. Windows 7 has no support since January 2015.
- Helmut
- Helmut
-
- Posts: 1700
- Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:21 am
- Location: Russia
Re: Development Builds
That is not Command Terminal, but git bash. If you installed https://git-scm.com/ it will be in popup menu.
- DGDanforth
- Posts: 1061
- Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:16 am
- Location: Palo Alto, California, USA
- Contact:
Re: Development Builds
I totally agree!Robert wrote:I just find this stuff hard!DGDanforth wrote:If 7 is like 10 then you "run cmd"
I give Microsoft an "F" for user interface design and it it is getting worse!
Re: Development Builds
I tried that first, but Cut-&-Paste from the Forum "CODE:" box did not work so I then tried something else - my mistake. It was not that long a line to type by hand.Ivan Denisov wrote:That is not Command Terminal, but git bash.
If I wanted to automate setting the file dates to their last change time is it easy to run git bash from within BlackBox (or some other tool - Python?), and to recover the output text for machine parsing?