issue-#100 Controls documentation

User avatar
Josef Templ
Posts: 2047
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 6:50 am

Re: issue-#100 Controls documentation

Post by Josef Templ »

Throw away your clone and clone again.
We need a well-defined point to start at.
It takes you 20 seconds.

Use Tortoise Git for cloning.
Do not use any other tool. I cannot give any advice for other tools.
There are many tools and probably all of them work somehow but a little different
from the set of supported features and most are very primitive.

In the clone dialog check the 'Branch' box and specify the name of the topic branch to work on
(issue-#100).
Use a local directory name that contains the branch name, e.g blackbox#100 when working on
issue-#100. Thereby you know what is in which directory.

Good luck

- Josef
User avatar
DGDanforth
Posts: 1061
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:16 am
Location: Palo Alto, California, USA
Contact:

Re: issue-#100 Controls documentation

Post by DGDanforth »

Josef Templ wrote:Throw away your clone and clone again.
We need a well-defined point to start at.
It takes you 20 seconds.

Use Tortoise Git for cloning.
Do not use any other tool. I cannot give any advice for other tools.
There are many tools and probably all of them work somehow but a little different
from the set of supported features and most are very primitive.

In the clone dialog check the 'Branch' box and specify the name of the topic branch to work on
(issue-#100).
Use a local directory name that contains the branch name, e.g blackbox#100 when working on
issue-#100. Thereby you know what is in which directory.

Good luck

- Josef
Where do I start?
Looking at Ivan's wiki page on Git only partly helps since the words he uses don't correspond to what I see.
I deleted the "clone" that I had and created a new empty directory "BBGit#100". I then did a right mouse click
in that directory and ran the init Git option which created a folder called "git". But now I am lost since I do
not know what option to select to "add all files" or to "clone branch #100". Here is what I see when I right
click on the directory
How to add.JPG
Which of all those options do I select?
-Doug
Ivan Denisov
Posts: 1700
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:21 am
Location: Russia

Re: issue-#100 Controls documentation

Post by Ivan Denisov »

Doug, my instruction is not for Tortoise Git, but for another client https://git-scm.com/download/win
Also this instruction is very old and does not reflect fully the topic branch strategy
http://wiki.blackboxframework.org/index ... p_with_Git

Anyway my instruction can be useful from this point:
http://wiki.blackboxframework.org/index ... ository.29
User avatar
Josef Templ
Posts: 2047
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 6:50 am

Re: issue-#100 Controls documentation

Post by Josef Templ »

The missing link!!!

Throw your "BBGit#100" away and FOLLOW my advice.
Use Tortoise Git Clone... for cloning a repository.
Don't forget to check the "Branch" option.
This creates a directory for you with everything set up.
And now comes the missing link.

You find the Tortoise Git Clone... menu item in the Windows Explorer context menu.
Mouse right click in any existing folder that is not already a git repository opens the context menu
and it has entries for Tortoise Git appropriate for that folder.
You can for example Mouse right click in C:\Windows\Temp and it will show
a Clone context menu item.
The Tortoise context menu items for a folder that already contains a git repository are different.
The essence is: You cannot clone a repository into a repository.

In case you don't have it, here is the clone URL:
https://github.com/BlackBoxCenter/blackbox.git

- Josef
User avatar
DGDanforth
Posts: 1061
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:16 am
Location: Palo Alto, California, USA
Contact:

Re: issue-#100 Controls documentation

Post by DGDanforth »

Ah, well that is where I got my "Master" from but I used the button on that site to do it.
So this time I followed your instructions and started from an empty directory and specified
the desired directory to be Blackbox#100. After several abortive attempts I finally entered
the correct branch "issue-#100" (case sensitive) and it worked!

It would be very nice if TortoiseGit offered you to browse the possible branches. One could then
just click on the branched desired.

OK, so now that I have issue-#100 I can explore it. I don't expect to change anything since Ivan
has already done the work. I would say that Ivan is the Keeper. Now issue-#100 was initially
created for something else so hang on while I check ...ah yes redmine says "Ivan Denisov" is the Assignee.

I vaguely remember that there was a redmine limit to the number of issues. Is that true? Do we have to
reuse issue numbers?

Thank you Josef and Ivan. I think I am now in sync.
-Doug
User avatar
Josef Templ
Posts: 2047
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 6:50 am

Re: issue-#100 Controls documentation

Post by Josef Templ »

this is issue-#100. cleaning up the docu, no change, no new issue in this case.

Please look at the wording of the Controls documentation.
It does NOT contain all fixes yet as far as I see.

Code: Select all

PROCEDURE  DepositRadioButton
Allocate a new command button using dir.NewRadioButton and deposit it.

PROCEDURE  DepositListBox
Allocate a new radio button using dir.NewListBox and deposit it.
should be

Code: Select all

PROCEDURE  DepositRadioButton
Allocate a new radio button using dir.NewRadioButton and deposit it.

PROCEDURE  DepositListBox
Allocate a new list box using dir.NewListBox and deposit it.
- Josef
Ivan Denisov
Posts: 1700
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:21 am
Location: Russia

Re: issue-#100 Controls documentation

Post by Ivan Denisov »

Doug, fill free to adopt necessary changes and push them into the topic branch.
Anyway the documentation improvement is better be done by native speaker.
User avatar
DGDanforth
Posts: 1061
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:16 am
Location: Palo Alto, California, USA
Contact:

Re: issue-#100 Controls documentation

Post by DGDanforth »

Ivan Denisov wrote:Doug, fill free to adopt necessary changes and push them into the topic branch.
Anyway the documentation improvement is better be done by native speaker.
OK, I have incorporated Josef's (my) changes and found a few other ones in Controls.
I also removed references to "command" button and replaced it with "push" button for consistency
in the documentation.
I just pushed the changes for issue-#100.
-Doug
User avatar
DGDanforth
Posts: 1061
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:16 am
Location: Palo Alto, California, USA
Contact:

Re: issue-#100 Controls documentation

Post by DGDanforth »

How do I see the diff of what I just pushed?
Using TortoiseGit on my machine offer the option of Diff. When I select that option
when pointing to Controls I get the following error message.
DiffErrorMsg.JPG
I assume that is not what one should do. How do you generate a diff file?
-Doug
Ivan Denisov
Posts: 1700
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:21 am
Location: Russia

Re: issue-#100 Controls documentation

Post by Ivan Denisov »

Josef prepared special instruction for this case:
http://wiki.blackboxframework.org/index.php?title=Diff
Post Reply