issue-#187 adding a run-time debugger to BlackBox

Merged to the master branch
User avatar
Robert
Posts: 1024
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 11:04 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: issue-#187 adding a run-time debugger to BlackBox

Post by Robert »

Josef Templ wrote:BTW, to me it is a strange concept that the defaults are stored outside the text model, viz. in the text view.
Unnecessary when you are reading .odc files, but I think it gives you more flexibility when reading other files, such as .txt.
User avatar
Robert
Posts: 1024
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 11:04 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: issue-#187 adding a run-time debugger to BlackBox

Post by Robert »

The Global Variables window is called Remote Variables; this seems unnecessarily confusing.

I would like to see an option (preferably the default) for the Global Variables window to be automatically updated when Continue is clicked.

I suspect that when I use this seriously I will have a few more minor personal requests, like the above, to make.


In general though this seems like an excellent addition.
User avatar
Robert
Posts: 1024
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 11:04 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: issue-#187 adding a run-time debugger to BlackBox

Post by Robert »

The help file says
> Shows the source position of a code breakpoint or the definition of a watchpoint.
Slightly clearer to call it a "data watchpoint".
After clicking the ">" the Log window says "data breakpoint". Can we add the name of the watched variable (and any '-' sign)?

Actually, why introduce the term "watchpoint"? Why not always use the same term "Data breakpoint" consistently?
User avatar
Josef Templ
Posts: 2047
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 6:50 am

Re: issue-#187 adding a run-time debugger to BlackBox

Post by Josef Templ »

Robert wrote:Is it worth extending the Guard on "Global Variables" to call TextCmds.SelectionGuard?
Yes, I think so.
I will add this in the next version.

- Josef
User avatar
Josef Templ
Posts: 2047
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 6:50 am

Re: issue-#187 adding a run-time debugger to BlackBox

Post by Josef Templ »

I have committed a new version with the discussed improvements.

In addition, this version uses the Windows registry also for the command line
(DevDebugCmds.RegisterDebugger) and for the layout of the main debugger windows
(Remote State, Remote Source, Debug tool).
The window layout is saved when the debugger is closed.

Download latest version from http://blackboxframework.org/unstable/i ... 1.1036.zip.

- Josef
User avatar
Robert
Posts: 1024
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 11:04 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: issue-#187 adding a run-time debugger to BlackBox

Post by Robert »

Robert wrote:I would like to see an option (preferably the default) for the Global Variables window to be automatically updated when Continue is clicked.
Josef - Is this difficult, or do you think it is not a good idea?

Thanks for making the other changes.
User avatar
Josef Templ
Posts: 2047
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 6:50 am

Re: issue-#187 adding a run-time debugger to BlackBox

Post by Josef Templ »

Robert wrote:
Robert wrote:I would like to see an option (preferably the default) for the Global Variables window to be automatically updated when Continue is clicked.
Josef - Is this difficult, or do you think it is not a good idea?

Thanks for making the other changes.
Yes, this is difficult.
There can be any number of 'Global Variables' Windows.
In addition, often you need to expand folds of structured global variables, which would be collapsed again.
There is also no automatic update for 'Global Variables' in the normal BlackBox,
The same holds for 'Loaded Modules'.

But I found another little improvement: using DevReferences.ResolveImportAlias for resolving IMPORT aliases.

Download the very latest version from http://blackboxframework.org/unstable/i ... 1.1037.zip.

- Josef
User avatar
Robert
Posts: 1024
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 11:04 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: issue-#187 adding a run-time debugger to BlackBox

Post by Robert »

Josef Templ wrote:Yes, this is difficult.
Pity!
Download the very latest version from http://blackboxframework.org/unstable/i ... 1.1037.zip.
I don't think I will bother with this development version. As far as I am concerned we can push this to master. I don't see any need for another vote.
Post Reply