Development Builds

User avatar
Robert
Posts: 1024
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 11:04 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Development Builds

Post by Robert »

One thing I don't like about our development builds is the file dates. (Are they the date the build was first made?)

I would much prefer it if the file dates reflected the last time the file actually changed. Is that possible?
User avatar
Josef Templ
Posts: 2047
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 6:50 am

Re: Development Builds

Post by Josef Templ »

As far as I know this is not possible but I am not expert enough
to be sure. I haven't seen any file dates stored anywhere in git.
I have given up looking at file dates but only look into the change log.

- Josef
Ivan Denisov
Posts: 1700
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:21 am
Location: Russia

Re: Development Builds

Post by Ivan Denisov »

There is commit hash in System/Rsrc/Strings.

You can see the history of any file in repository.

Code: Select all

git log -p Host/Mod/Menus.odc
And match the dates it has been changed.

With that hash also you can easily reset repository to the state of this build.

Code: Select all

git reset <commithash>
User avatar
Robert
Posts: 1024
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 11:04 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: Development Builds

Post by Robert »

Ivan Denisov wrote:...
I didn't really understand any of this, but that probably doesn't matter as it didn't seem to answer my question.
1 - What am I looking for in the Strings file?
2 - Where do I type those git strings?

I used to know how to find the "DOS box" in Windows XP, but now I have switched to Windows 7 I can't even find that.
User avatar
DGDanforth
Posts: 1061
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:16 am
Location: Palo Alto, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Development Builds

Post by DGDanforth »

Robert wrote: I used to know how to find the "DOS box" in Windows XP, but now I have switched to Windows 7 I can't even find that.
If 7 is like 10 then you "run cmd"
-Doug
User avatar
Robert
Posts: 1024
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 11:04 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: Development Builds

Post by Robert »

DGDanforth wrote:If 7 is like 10 then you "run cmd"
Didn't help!

But I have now been shown two ways:
1 - Click the tool bar start button, then type "cmd" into the "Search" box
2 - Hold the <Windows> & <R> keys simultaneously, the type "cmd" into the "Open" box.

I just find this stuff hard!
Zinn
Posts: 476
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 5:56 pm
Location: Frankfurt am Main
Contact:

Re: Development Builds

Post by Zinn »

Yes, it is hard to start with a new system. It is out of date. Windows 7 has no support since January 2015.
- Helmut
Ivan Denisov
Posts: 1700
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:21 am
Location: Russia

Re: Development Builds

Post by Ivan Denisov »

That is not Command Terminal, but git bash. If you installed https://git-scm.com/ it will be in popup menu.
User avatar
DGDanforth
Posts: 1061
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:16 am
Location: Palo Alto, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Development Builds

Post by DGDanforth »

Robert wrote:
DGDanforth wrote:If 7 is like 10 then you "run cmd"
I just find this stuff hard!
I totally agree!
I give Microsoft an "F" for user interface design and it it is getting worse!
User avatar
Robert
Posts: 1024
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 11:04 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: Development Builds

Post by Robert »

Ivan Denisov wrote:That is not Command Terminal, but git bash.
I tried that first, but Cut-&-Paste from the Forum "CODE:" box did not work so I then tried something else - my mistake. It was not that long a line to type by hand.

If I wanted to automate setting the file dates to their last change time is it easy to run git bash from within BlackBox (or some other tool - Python?), and to recover the output text for machine parsing?
Post Reply