Page 4 of 4

Re: issue-#187 adding a run-time debugger to BlackBox

Posted: Sun Jun 10, 2018 7:59 am
by Robert
Josef Templ wrote:BTW, to me it is a strange concept that the defaults are stored outside the text model, viz. in the text view.
Unnecessary when you are reading .odc files, but I think it gives you more flexibility when reading other files, such as .txt.

Re: issue-#187 adding a run-time debugger to BlackBox

Posted: Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:25 am
by Robert
The Global Variables window is called Remote Variables; this seems unnecessarily confusing.

I would like to see an option (preferably the default) for the Global Variables window to be automatically updated when Continue is clicked.

I suspect that when I use this seriously I will have a few more minor personal requests, like the above, to make.


In general though this seems like an excellent addition.

Re: issue-#187 adding a run-time debugger to BlackBox

Posted: Sun Jun 10, 2018 9:16 am
by Robert
The help file says
> Shows the source position of a code breakpoint or the definition of a watchpoint.
Slightly clearer to call it a "data watchpoint".
After clicking the ">" the Log window says "data breakpoint". Can we add the name of the watched variable (and any '-' sign)?

Actually, why introduce the term "watchpoint"? Why not always use the same term "Data breakpoint" consistently?

Re: issue-#187 adding a run-time debugger to BlackBox

Posted: Sun Jun 10, 2018 6:09 pm
by Josef Templ
Robert wrote:Is it worth extending the Guard on "Global Variables" to call TextCmds.SelectionGuard?
Yes, I think so.
I will add this in the next version.

- Josef

Re: issue-#187 adding a run-time debugger to BlackBox

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 5:52 pm
by Josef Templ
I have committed a new version with the discussed improvements.

In addition, this version uses the Windows registry also for the command line
(DevDebugCmds.RegisterDebugger) and for the layout of the main debugger windows
(Remote State, Remote Source, Debug tool).
The window layout is saved when the debugger is closed.

Download latest version from http://blackboxframework.org/unstable/i ... 1.1036.zip.

- Josef

Re: issue-#187 adding a run-time debugger to BlackBox

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:28 pm
by Robert
Robert wrote:I would like to see an option (preferably the default) for the Global Variables window to be automatically updated when Continue is clicked.
Josef - Is this difficult, or do you think it is not a good idea?

Thanks for making the other changes.

Re: issue-#187 adding a run-time debugger to BlackBox

Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:35 am
by Josef Templ
Robert wrote:
Robert wrote:I would like to see an option (preferably the default) for the Global Variables window to be automatically updated when Continue is clicked.
Josef - Is this difficult, or do you think it is not a good idea?

Thanks for making the other changes.
Yes, this is difficult.
There can be any number of 'Global Variables' Windows.
In addition, often you need to expand folds of structured global variables, which would be collapsed again.
There is also no automatic update for 'Global Variables' in the normal BlackBox,
The same holds for 'Loaded Modules'.

But I found another little improvement: using DevReferences.ResolveImportAlias for resolving IMPORT aliases.

Download the very latest version from http://blackboxframework.org/unstable/i ... 1.1037.zip.

- Josef

Re: issue-#187 adding a run-time debugger to BlackBox

Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:47 am
by Robert
Josef Templ wrote:Yes, this is difficult.
Pity!
Download the very latest version from http://blackboxframework.org/unstable/i ... 1.1037.zip.
I don't think I will bother with this development version. As far as I am concerned we can push this to master. I don't see any need for another vote.