Page 1 of 1

BlackBox main window ghosting

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 9:30 am
by Josef Templ
Has anybody looked at my experimental change posted to the community forum?
See https://community.blackboxframework.org/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=181#p1129.

This question has been raised twice (Doug and Robert) but there was no reply to my posting so far.

- Josef

Re: BlackBox main window ghosting

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 9:33 am
by Robert
No!
I've prompted the person who raised the issue with me, but they are currently busy earning a living!

I will take a look later today.

Re: BlackBox main window ghosting

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 12:53 pm
by Robert
I have made these changes (to build 929) and so far the scrolling has been working without any problems.

This does not prove much, as it usually worked ok before.

Will report any significant events.

Re: BlackBox main window ghosting

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 11:32 am
by Josef Templ
I am also using the experimental change locally.
So far without any observations of unwanted side-effects.

Since the ghosting behavior occurs primarily under Win 10 and Win 10 will be the
dominant Windows platform in the near future I think it is important to make BlackBox
behave well on this Windows version.

One observable side-effect of the change is this:
If you press a normal key (for example 'x') while mouse tracking, that key event is ignored in the changed version.
In the original version the key 'x' gets inserted after you release the mouse.
Since a keyboard input while mouse tracking doesn't give much sense I would consider this behavior acceptable.
Note that the behavior of pressing modifier keys such as SHIFT or CTRL while mouse tracking is not changed.

- Josef

Re: BlackBox main window ghosting

PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 8:26 pm
by Robert
Josef wrote:This question has been raised twice (Doug and Robert) but there was no reply to my posting so far.

I have had private correspondence with my original contact who reported the "selection / scrolling" bug, and with Doug who reported the "deselect" bug.
Both report that this experimental change has resolved their problem.

I suggest it is suitable to incorporate as a bug fix in 1.7.1.